About Us


The National Environment Agency (NEA) was established under the National Environment Management Act (NEMA), 1994 as a semi-autonomous agency with an independent structure to serve as the “principal body responsible for overall management of the environment” in The Gambia.
The NEA is the advisory body to the National Management Council (NEMC) on the formulation, review, revision and repealing of environmental policies, plans, standards, guidelines, criteria, and regulations.
The NEMC is the main policy-making body for environmental management in the Gambia. This Council is chaired by the President of the Republic of The Gambia, with the Ministers of the following Ministries as members:

  • Natural Resources
  • Agriculture
  • Health and Social Welfare
  • Finance and Economic AffairsTrade, Industry, Employment and Regional Integration
  • Lands, Regional Government & Religious Affairs.

The Executive Director of the NEA serves as Secretary to the Council. In addition to the composition of this council, the President may co-opt any person into the Council as a member.


The mandate of the NEA is largely coordination, advice, and consultation, overseeing compliance and providing technical services.
Under the NEMA, 1994, NEA is empowered to take direct implementation of actions in matters dealing with environmental impact assessment, establishing environmental quality, and monitoring standards, and controlling the importation and use of pesticides and hazardous chemicals.
 In the area of environmental quality (mainly pollution control), the NEA has the mandate to enforce compliance with national standards and has the legal authority to seek redress whenever there is non-compliance under the guidance of the Polluter Pays Principle.
What is the Polluter Pays Principle?
The Polluter Pays Principle says that anybody who damages the environment will be liable to pay for the damage and restoration. Under this principle, the damage is assessed and paid for by the culprit.

Organizational Structure

NEA is headed by the Executive Director who is responsible for the implementation of the Agency’s mandates.
The Executive Director is advised by the Technical Advisory Committee and Administration and Finance Committee together with the Deputy Executive Director.
The Agency has organized its operational activities into two Networks (Directorates):
Technical Services Network
Inter-Sectoral Network.

Apart from the above two Directorates (Technical Services Network and Inter-Sectoral Network), the Agency also has the Directorate of Administration and Finance.
These institutional structures ensure coordination amongst participating unit programs and their Technical Working Groups. Each program of the Agency has established a technical working group.
Currently, the Agency consists of eleven programmes and these are indicated under the corresponding Networks.

The link below shows the organogram of the Agency.

NEA organogram

Regional Offices

The Agency has a regional office in each of the following regions of the country.

West Coast Region, Brikama
Contact Person: Salman Demba
Phone number: 3181308 / 7181100
Email Address: dembasalman@gmail.com

Lower River Region, Mansakonko

Contact Person: Lamin Jassey
Phone number: 3250566
Email: laminjassey01@gmail.com

Central River Region, Janjanbureh

Contact Person: Alieu Sarr
Phone number: 3024103 / 7100998
Email Address: alieue@yahoo.co.uk

Upper River Region, Basse

Contact Person: Momodou Njie
Phone number: 3235280 / 2134671
Email Address: mamadounjie76@gmail.com

North Bank Region, Kerwan

Contact Person: Hawa Busso
Phone number: 2610037 / 6293668
Email Address: bussohawa@gmail.com

The regional offices carry out the activities of the Agency in the regions.
There are no regional offices within the Greater Banjul Area for the fact the Headquarters oversees them.